My Swiss (dis)adventure:What I Have Learnt

“Isn’t it ironic, don’t you think?”

This song has been the soundtrack of these last 3 days.

If you follow my travel blog, you will notice that most of the times I travel for a very short amount of time, usually one or two nights.

As I had never been to Switzerland and planned to visit 3 cities in one go,this time I left for full 4 days.

Spoiler Alert-> I managed to visit much more in few hours in Oslo or Copenhagen.

It went all wrong.

An expected storm lasting 3 days, a stomach bug, a missed train to one of the cities that we planned to visit, a BlaBla car ride which got canceled last-minute and forced us to splash 3 times more for the train fare. (Yes, Switzerland is that expensive)

However, what really struck me it’s how I react to all of this.

I took this experience as a metaphor of life and learnt few things.

  • Planning doesn’t mean that you can control everything

I once saw this on a wall and told myself that I should imprint it in my brain.
..the following day I was over planning as usual.

MorePlanesThanTrains- Street Art London

It’s not the end of the world if you don’t manage to stick to your plan. There are so many factors that you can’t control.

It is very frustrating because we don’t get to have days off and travel every weekend but, when worst comes to worst, you can still consider to re-visit this place one day.

  • Spending time at home it’s not the end of the world

I am one of those people who is always on the go and spends the strictly necessary time at the home.

This trip made me realize that it is not that bad. Our AirBnB home was so nice and comfortable that I didn’t mind to be stuck there because of the storm and the flu.

MorePlanesThanTrains-Zurich

I read a book, chatted with my travel buddy, enjoyed teas and early dinners.

I finally got to sleep more than 8 hours per night as well, which in London is a myth.

  • When it comes to winter trips better to exaggerate with the luggage

As usual, I had checked the weather forecast while packing.

It was a similar weather to England so I didn’t bother to pack an extra pair of socks, boots o jumper.

Of course carrying a hand luggage doesn’t help as well.

Eventually I had to throw away my boots as the excess of rain literally made them fell apart  in two and I also had to buy a hat last-minute (luckily there was an H&M!)

I had pack instead lot of jewelry and different accessories which is a waste of space as in winter all is completely covered by your coat.

 

  • Everything can change all out of sudden

On our last day, we had given up on visiting the city.

And then,just a couple of hours before leaving, the rain finally stopped and we had the chance to tour Basel and get some picture!!

“And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think?”

ZURICH

MorePlanesThanTrains-Zurich West

BASEL

MorePlanesThanTrains-Basel St Alban

MorePlanesThanTrains-Basel City Hall

MorePlanesThanTrains-Basel Street Art

xxx Valentina

9 comments

  1. Beautiful Photos and the quotes are perfect for me! I am such a planer and always need a good reminder that everything is going to be alright!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow that sounds like quite the trip. Glad you made it out ok though and definitely important lessons. Looks like you still took some lovely photos though! Haha I have a few crazy ones like that too. Still editing one that I did last year traveling to Niagara Falls.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment