Perpignan*La Vie en Rose*

Former capital of the kingdom of Mallorca and situated just 38 km from the Spanish border, Perpignan it’s a unique place to visit because of its location.

Being at the borders between France and Spain means that you get a great mix of both cultures.

We stayed there just for one night but we decided to make the most of it renting a car and discovering also the surrounding.

Driving toward Spain, the first stop that I recommend is the popular resort of Argeles-sur-Mar.

The sandy beach is almost seven kilometers long and gives you a great perspective of the low hills of the eastern Pyrenees.

It was quite windy so we didn’t stop there for too long.

The place that really captured my heart it’s the fishing village of CollioureΒ ,which reminded me of my beloved Amalfi Coast.

Cobbled streets, colorful houses, lemon trees, a castle… you will feel like being part of a Matisse painting!

We read that it becomes quite crowded during summer, beingΒ one of the warmest summer spots in France.

We headed back to Perpignan for dinner and we discovered that it is one of the most expensive city I have ever been in terms of food!

All restaurants are very pricey and we opted instead for the small French bistrots in Avenue MarΓ©chal Leclerc, loved by young local people for good wine (we are in France after all!) and tapas.

If you have just a day in Perpignan, don’t miss these 3 places :

  • Cathedrale St- Jean
  • Palais des Rois de Majorque (Palace of the Kings of Majorca)
  • Castillet

The taxi ride to the airport is a mere 10 minutes from the city centre, but make sure to negotiate the fare in advance!

….it costed us more than renting a car for 2 days. πŸ˜‚

A’ la prochaine fois, Perpignan!

xxx Valentina


Love my blog?Please buy me a coffee to support my dream of visiting Japan! πŸ™‚

Buy me a coffeeBuy me a coffee

2 comments

Leave a comment